Monday, January 21:  The Library celebrates Martin Luther King Jr. Day and is open regular hours, from 10 a.m. to 9 p.m.

Estes Valley Library Interlibrary Loan Policy

The Estes Valley Public Library District (Library) participates in a cooperative Interlibrary Loan program with most other Colorado libraries, and many others in the United States.

To request an Interlibrary loan item and reference online instructions and FAQs, please visit the library website at

Interlibrary Loans are available only for materials that the Library does not own. Please check our collection before submitting an Interlibrary Loan Request. If the Library owns the item, but it is currently checked out, the Library will place a hold on it for the Patron. Newly published or newly released items are generally not available via the Interlibrary Loan system. Please check with the Library staff to request a new item.

The Library does not charge patrons a fee for items requested from Colorado libraries but the patron is responsible for any fees that are specified by the Lending Library. Items not available in Colorado may be requested from out of state libraries for a $5.00 fee, in addition to any fees specified by the Lending Library. The patron must approve all fees before the item is formally requested.

Most Interlibrary Loan requests that can be filled within the state of Colorado arrive within two weeks. Requests from outside Colorado may take longer. Due dates are determined by the Lending Library. The lending period may be as short as ten days, though more typically three weeks, and these materials typically may not be renewed.

You will be notified when your materials arrive.

Lost or damaged Interlibrary Loan items are subject to replacement costs as specified by the Lending Library plus a Recovery Fee.


Please refer to the Circulation Policy set for more information.

The Estes Valley Library Interlibrary Loan Policy was adopted and approved by the Estes Valley Public Library District Board of Trustees on April 17, 2006, and revised November 16, 2009, September 17, 2012 and December 14, 2015.


Peter Plaut, President                                                                  Marjorie Hancock, Secretary